Thank the gods for Miraculous Mule. And all their kind.

Miraculous Mule has been whipping audiences into a frenzy since forming accidentally in the latter part of 2010.

The band features former Dream City Film Club frontman and critically acclaimed solo artist Michael J Sheehy who describes Miraculous Mule as “….. a group of Anglo-Irish honkies who dig African American Gospel, prison/work songs and Hillbilly music.” They are a four-headed beast with three lead singers, Sheehy, Alex Louise Petty, and Patrick McCarthy who also plays the bass and provides a driving rhythm section along with drummer, Ian Burns. Sheehy continues: “Although we are lapsed Catholics, agnostics and non-believers who have tripped and fallen into Hell’s ditch many moons ago, we sincerely believe in the power of this music and how it makes us, and our audience, feel.”

The Londoners announce their first album since 2017’s critically lauded “Two Tonne Testimony”. While its predecessor was a heavy, politically, and socially aware garage rock album, “Old Bones New Fire” goes back to the band’s genesis, indeed to the very roots of rock itself. Returning to their love of early blues, gospel and folk music the band have made a raw, stripped back and passionate record that pays tribute to the many artists and songs that have inspired them over the years.

The songs on Old Bones, New Fire are some of the songs that were the big bang that brought us everything. Work songs, field chants, folk songs and fables, prayers for help, release, and mercy. They are the sacred texts, the screeds of blues, rock ‘n roll, and all since.

Lest we forget indeed.

And these songs really are timeless. The stories they tell resonate as much today as when they were first played and sang. The names may keep changing but it’s the same demons, devils, and angels walking the earth as ever did. This is rock ‘n roll church children!

And here to show that the old ones are still the best ones is Miraculous Mule with Old Bones, New Fire. And that’s exactly what we’ve got here. Nine traditional songs that have been continuously performed one way or another for the last couple of thousand years or so, reinterpreted and revised and ripe for rediscovery.

John The Revelator is given a southern country swagger and whispered chorus. O’Death features Alex Louise Petty. She’s “guested” on the last two albums. Now she’s a full-time member. You can hear why.

Nobody/Nothing could have been on Exile On Main Street.

And Butcher Boy starts like one of those electric traditional English folk song bands. Then it shows how a banjo can change things. Maybe it’ll become its own tradition.

The band will play an intimate album launch on Sunday 14th August at the ornate Fitzovia Chapel in London’s West End. Tickets are on sale at

Previous articleA Short Conversation with Dan Kubinski of DeadFinger
Next articleCold Moon/Worm Moon – Missing Scenes (reviewed by T. Bebedor)
Musician, scribbler, historian, gnostic, seeker of enlightenment, asker of the wrong questions, delver into the lost archives, fugitive from the law of averages, blogger, quantum spanner, left footed traveller, music journalist, zenarchist, freelance writer, reviewer and gemini. People have woken up to worse.

Leave a Reply