Just For You – King Wizard (reviewed by Dave Franklin)

Just For You is a great example of where modern mainstream music is today, though the term mainstream might undermine just how good the music is. For a long time, music fell into neat demarcations, it was tribal, it was pop, or rock, or hip-hop or some other neatly defined genre. King Wizard is representative... Continue Reading →

Vision – Da Major (reviewed by Dave Franklin)

Rising from a slow-burning, atmospheric and slightly cinematic opening passage, Vision then bursts into life, evolving into a salvo of deft and dexterous vocals running on a platform of skittering beats and depth-charge bass pulses. Lyrically reflective and musically dark and edgy, it plays with some wonderful sonic dynamics before fading out, like a musical... Continue Reading →

Divorce – Gye (reviewed by Dave Franklin)

Most artists create a stage persona for themselves, an identity apart from their real-life world, a character to escape into that adds mystery to their musical avatar. But few create whole alternative timelines and build new worlds for that character to inhabit. But that is the lengths to which Gye is prepared to go. Divorce... Continue Reading →

We Got It – Lil Bro (reviewed by Dave Franklin)

Hip-hop has a reputation for being upfront and in-your-face, but with We Got It, Lil Bro injects something more relaxed, more sultry even into the proceedings. It runs on that skittering, trap-infused groove that is the hallmark of the modern sound, spacious bass pulses linked with ticking percussion. It even blends and blurs the lines... Continue Reading →

Splash – Acid (reviewed by Dave Franklin)

Pushing the boundaries of hip-hop and alternative pop together until they mix and merge in the same sonic space, Michigan-based artist, Acid, has created a perfect example of the post-genre urban sound. Splash runs on a bubbling, buoyant groove and skittering percussion, and plays with futuristic electronica to create the engaging soundscape that sits between... Continue Reading →

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑